Day[1]

I have taken and completed my first introductory computer science course officially in school, as part of my Health Informatics Option in September 2016. I enjoyed the course content a lot – I loved the problem solving aspect of the course. Not to mention none of the assignments really felt like assignments to me. I figured I owe it to myself to learn programming more after realizing that I had been looking forward to each weeks’ assignment handout.

I started learning to code independently in January 2017 when I started my co-op job. I started by taking CS50x that is offered by Harvard University and taught by David Malan. I have been keeping up with assignments up to Week 5 (out of 11) now. I am feeling burnt out learning C and have lost a bit of interest. A friend of mine advised me to consider learning web developing first as it might be more fun and the payoff, almost instant.

I am going to hold myself accountable for the journey I am about to embark on. There is no better way to do so than to blog about it!

Resources that I have in my favor:

  • Friends who program for a living
  • A heap ton of online resources and programming courses
  • Google
  • Free time next term (exact amount to be determined for scheduling purposes)
  • Inspirations, in the form of Stephanie, Josh Kemp
  • reddit/r/learnprogramming

Goals for this week:

  • Continue the Odin Project  and see where it takes me
  • Start a programming book (TBD)
  • Read some programmers’ blogs
  • Program the Fizz-Buzz problem in C
Leave a Reply

